February 1, 2000

The Supreme Court denies Hon. Enrique T. Garcia, Jr.’s motion for reconsideration with finality.

January 4, 2000

Hon. Garcia files a motion for reconsideration before the Supreme Court.

December 17, 1999

By a vote of 14-0 and 1 abstention, the Supreme Court dismisses the Petition of Hon. Garcia.

June 16, 1999

Hon. Garcia files an Urgent Reiteration of Application for Temporary Restraining Order before the Supreme Court.

December 10, 1998

DOE and BOI jointly issue the Guidelines for Registration and Incentives Availment.

June 19, 1998

DOE issues Supplementary Implementing Rules (Department Circular No. 98-06-009).

March 14, 1998

President Fidel V. Ramos issues Executive Order No. 471 declaring full deregulation of the downstream oil industry.

March 11, 1998

DOE issues Implementing Rules and Regulations.

February 17, 1998

Hon. Garcia files Petition (G. R. No. 132451) before the Supreme Court seeking to declare the law unconstitutional.

February 10, 1998

Signed into law by the President as Republic Act No. 8479.

February 6, 1998

House approves the Bicameral Conference Committee Report (viva voce vote).

February 6, 1998

Meeting between the bicameral panels with the Senate President (Hon. Neptali A. Gonzales) and the Speaker of the House (Hon. Jose De Venecia, Jr.), Office of the Senate President.

January 23, 1998

Technical Working Group Meeting (House, Senate, DOE).

January 22, 1998

Technical Working Group Meeting (House, Senate, DOE).

January 21, 1998

Meeting of the Bicameral Conference Committee, Rembrandt Hotel (including Executive Session with BSP Governor Gabriel Singson).

January 20, 1998

Meeting of the Bicameral Conference Committee, Rembrandt Hotel.

January 19, 1998

Meeting of the Bicameral Conference Committee, Sulo Hotel.

January 14, 1998

Meeting of the Bicameral Conference Committee, EDSA Plaza Hotel.

January 12, 1998

Constitution of the House Panel to the bicameral conference committee (Hon. Tiņga; Hon. Exequiel B. Javier; Hon. Leopoldo E. San Buenaventura; Hon. Felicito C. Payumo; Hon. Antonio E. Bengson III; Hon. Eduardo R. Gullas; Hon. Herminio S. Aquino; Hon. Margarito B. Teves; Hon. Edcel C. Lagman; Hon. John R. Osmeņa; Hon. Garcia; Hon. Joker P. Arroyo; and Hon. Alfredo Amor E. Abueg, Jr.).

Approval by the House on Third Reading (157 yeas; 8 nays; 0 abstentions).

Approval by the House on Second Reading (viva voce vote).

Period of Individual Amendments (Hon. Osmeņa; Hon. Wigberto E. Taņada; Hon. Lagman; Hon. Roilo Golez).

Period of Committee Amendments.

January 10, 1998

Period of Interpellations (Hon. Arroyo; Hon. Lagman; Hon. Golez; Hon. Taņada).

January 9, 1998

Hon. Marcial C. Punzalan, Jr., in a Memo to Speaker De Venecia and Hon. Tiņga, suggests that legislative action on the deregulation bill be suspended, in view of the lingering economic crisis.

January 9, 1998

Period of Interpellations (Hon. Arroyo).

December 18, 1997

Motion to Reconsider approval of the bill on Second Reading is approved; Bill is reconsidered.

December 18, 1997

Approval by the House on Second Reading.

Period of Individual Amendments (Hon. Manuel A. Roxas, II; Hon. Osmeņa; Hon. Teves; Hon. Arroyo).

Period of Committee Amendments; amendments withdrawn

December 17, 1997

Period of Interpellations (Hon. Erasmo B. Damasing, Jr.; Hon. Garcia).

December 16, 1997

Period of Interpellations (Hon. Osmeņa).

December 15, 1997

Period of Interpellations (Hon. Garcia).

December 11, 1997

Bill is certified by the President as a priority administration measure.

December 10, 1997

Period of Interpellations (Hon. Arnulfo P. Fuentebella; Hon. Punzalan).

December 9, 1997

Period of Sponsorship in the House (Sponsorship Speech delivered by Hon. Tiņga).

December 4, 1997

Committee on Energy submits Committee Report and files the substitute bill in consolidation of all the bills filed (Committee Report No. 1312 on House Bill No. 10363).

December 1, 1997

In Executive Session, House Committee on Energy approves draft Committee Report.

November 26, 1997

House Committee on Energy holds hearings on the bills filed seeking to deregulate the downstream oil industry.

November 20, 1997

House Committee on Energy holds hearings on the bills filed seeking to deregulate the downstream oil industry.

November 1997

House Bills filed to reenact the Oil Deregulation Law declared unconstitutional (HB 10270 by Hon. Hernando B. Perez; HB 10292 by Hon. Roxas; HB 10302 by Hon. Tiņga; HB 10309 by Hon. Punzalan; and HB 10313 by Hon. San Buenaventura).

November 5, 1997

Supreme Court declares Republic Act No. 8180 unconstitutional.



What do you want to do now?


Go back to the Top; Go back to art’s home page; Laugh or Be Entertained; Destroy Cartels and Monopolies; Invest or Find a Job; Check Software or a Computer; Check out the latest News; Look for a School; Greet a Friend; Dip Into Black Gold and be Electrified; Express Yourself; Relive the Past; Get Involved in the Law. Government & Politics; Read Some Classics; Consult the laws of the Philippine Energy Sector; Philosophize; or Search.


This page is best viewed using Microsoft Internet Explorer 11.0.


Last revised:  February 08, 2016 12:42 AM.


Caveat EmptorOwners of the sites included herein do not explicitly endorse this page.


Comments, suggestions, objections, or violent reactions?


Let me know.